The student is taken through Nigerian Constitutional Development in a chronological and sequential order. In this course, emphases are on topics like colonial constitutions such as the Richards Constitution, the McPherson Constitution, the Littleton Constitution; and postindependence constitutions like the Independence Constitution of 1960, the Republican Constitution of 1963, the 1979 Constitution, the 1989 and 1999 Constitutions. Each constitution will be examined based on the background to its making, basic provisions or features, landmarks/merits and failure/demerits.

Level of Study: 100 Level